Start with the Ascot 3 if a smaller published turning radius and lighter individual lifts matter most. Consider the Ascot 4 if you prefer its four-wheel layout and can accommodate the larger turning space and heavier components. Both disassemble into five pieces without tools. Seating, route conditions, and your actual loading routine should settle the choice; wheel count alone cannot.
Bayside Mobility sells these scooters. This researched comparison uses published information checked October 20, 2026, rather than hands-on testing. Some listing details conflict, so confirm the exact unit and package before payment.
Which Ascot models are we comparing?
This guide compares Bayside’s FreeRider Ascot 3 mobility scooter and FreeRider Ascot 4 mobility scooter, each listed in Red with 15Ah AGM batteries. FreeRider manufactures the scooters; FreeRiderUSA is the official North American distribution center.
Both are take-apart travel scooters, rather than scooters that fold into one connected transport package.
Other documentation includes FR-M01 and FR168-4A designations and 12Ah configurations. Those documents do not establish the specifications of today’s 15Ah order. Request its model identifier and matching manual.
Ascot 3-wheel vs 4-wheel at a glance
The comparison uses the FreeRiderUSA Ascot brochure, cross-checked against Bayside and the distributor’s product pages. Confirm that the brochure describes the supplied version.
|
Purchase factor |
Ascot 3 |
Ascot 4 |
|
Model and layout |
FreeRider Ascot 3; one front/two rear wheels |
FreeRider Ascot 4; two front/two rear wheels |
|
Bayside listed price, October 20, 2026 |
$1,299; Red/15Ah AGM |
$1,399; Red/15Ah AGM |
|
Capacity; conflicting speed listings |
325 lb; Bayside up to 4 mph, US brochure 4.9 mph |
325 lb; Bayside up to 4 mph, US brochure 5 mph |
|
Seat listings |
Bayside 15 × 15 in; US brochure 18 in wide. Confirm supplied seat |
Bayside 15 × 15 in; US brochure 18 in wide. Confirm supplied seat |
|
Operating length × width × height |
Not verified for the current 15Ah unit |
Not verified for the current 15Ah unit |
|
Published turning radius |
34 in; test conditions not stated |
52 in; test conditions not stated |
|
Tires |
Brochure: 7 in front/8 in rear; confirm tire type |
Brochure: 7 in front/8 in rear; confirm tire type |
|
Ground clearance; suspension |
Brochure: 1.4 in; measurement point unstated. Suspension not verified |
Brochure: 2.1 in; measurement point unstated. Suspension not verified |
|
Battery; rated range |
15Ah AGM; up to 15 mi in brochure |
15Ah AGM; up to 15 mi in brochure |
|
Charger |
Exact supplied specification not verified |
Exact supplied specification not verified |
|
Listed scooter weight |
Brochure: 99 lb; battery/accessory inclusions not specified |
Brochure: 108 lb; battery/accessory inclusions not specified |
|
Heaviest disassembled piece |
26 lb per FreeRiderUSA; component identity/dimensions not verified |
33 lb per FreeRiderUSA; component identity/dimensions not verified |
|
Transport and equipment |
Five pieces, no tools; obtain itemized seat, armrest, basket, battery and charger inclusions |
Five pieces, no tools; obtain itemized seat, armrest, basket, battery and charger inclusions |
Bayside’s Ascot 4 summary badges also show three wheels, a 34-inch turning radius, and a 26 lb heaviest piece, conflicting with its main description and FreeRider documentation. Use the model-specific references above, then obtain written confirmation. Both Bayside battery selectors show unavailable-variant messaging; a cart button does not confirm inventory.
Seating controls and legroom
Bayside lists a 15-by-15-inch seat for both, while the US brochure lists an 18-inch seat width. The sources do not establish whether these describe different packages or generations. Obtain the supplied seat’s width, depth, and usable armrest spacing. Their shared 325 lb capacity does not establish seat fit; ask how carried items count toward that limit.
The US brochure mentions a delta handlebar for Ascot 4 and illustrates armrests and front baskets. Confirm the supplied tiller, seat swivel, height settings, armrest adjustment, and accessories on your quote. A pictured accessory or adjustment on another version is not automatically part of Bayside’s package.
Check control reach with your back supported and feet on the platform. Make sure steering does not bring the tiller into your knees and that you can operate the controls throughout the required turn. The single front wheel does not, by itself, prove more usable legroom. If measurements leave uncertainty, ask whether a suitable demonstration is available.
Turning through doorways and indoor spaces
Ascot 3’s smaller published turning radius makes it the stronger starting point for tight indoor routes. Complete operating dimensions for the quoted versions remain unverified. Obtain length, width, and height with the actual seat and accessories; turning radius alone does not establish the footprint.
Measure the narrowest clear doorway with the door open, then the approach and exit. Account for furniture, a basket projecting forward, armrests adjusted outward, and the space to reverse or reposition. A scooter may pass straight through an opening yet fail to negotiate the immediate corner.
Turning-test conditions are not given. Do not turn the radius into a guaranteed room-size requirement; check the whole route to each regular destination.
Outdoor routes wheels and operating limits
Ascot 3 has one steering wheel at the front; Ascot 4 has two. Four wheels do not eliminate tipping risk, and three wheels do not automatically exclude outdoor use. Neither layout earns an all-terrain recommendation from this comparison.
The US brochure lists more ground clearance for Ascot 4, but does not identify the measurement point. The available FreeRider Ascot owner’s manual, covering other configurations, measures clearance at the motor. Confirm the lowest point of your unit and the reference used before comparing thresholds. Neither figure is a curb-climbing rating.
That manual lists solid PU tires, describes dry, level concrete or asphalt as normal surfaces, and warns against curb riding and abrupt turns. Confirm its applicability and the supplied tires. Obtain the exact model’s slope restrictions; an uphill rating would not authorize crossing a slope sideways. Suspension was not verified for either quoted configuration, so the evidence does not establish a softer ride on Ascot 4.
Disassembly lifting and vehicle loading
The official Ascot 3 product page lists five-piece, tool-free disassembly and a 26 lb heaviest piece. The official Ascot 4 page gives five pieces and 33 lb. Ascot 3 therefore has the lighter published maximum individual lift, subject to confirming the supplied version.
The available manual describes five components: basket, seat assembly, battery pack, front section, and rear section. Its workflow includes switching off on level ground, locking the steering, removing the seat and disconnecting the battery pack, lowering the tiller, and releasing the chassis connection. Obtain matching instructions before attempting that sequence on your 15Ah scooter.
Ask which section corresponds to the published heaviest-piece figure and what stays attached during that lift. Neither current US product page provides that component’s complete dimensions. Also request battery-pack and seat weights; do not subtract an uncertain battery figure from overall weight to invent a verified transport weight.
Lifting 26 or 33 lb from the floor is different from reaching over a bumper and raising an awkward component above a trunk sill. Check gripping points, opening height, cargo depth, and room for all five parts. The manual warns against lifting the seat by its pivoting armrests. Arrange help where needed and confirm an appropriate cargo-securing method for every component.
Use Bayside’s car fit and loading guide to assess the loading path. Allow space and help for reassembly at both ends, including the manual’s connection, locking, and steering checks.
Contact Bayside Mobility with your preferred Ascot model and battery, delivery ZIP code, narrowest clear access measurements, cargo-opening dimensions, who will disassemble and load it, and any accessories or assistance needed. Request written configuration and handling details to review your options.
Battery range and everyday charging
Both selected Bayside packages list 15Ah AGM batteries. Neither has a documented range advantage with that listed capacity. The brochure’s maximum range is a rating for comparison, not a promise for your daily route. Load, hills, surface conditions, temperature, battery age, and state of charge can reduce usable distance. Leave reserve for the return trip.
Request the exact battery labels, quantity, individual voltage, pack weight, connectors, and approved charger. The older manual’s two-battery 12Ah arrangement does not independently verify every detail of a current 15Ah package. Amp-hours alone cannot establish replacement compatibility.
The available manual describes an off-board charger, meaning an external charging unit. Confirm that arrangement for your 15Ah pack, including the connection and any required adapter or dock. Follow its instructions for charging in a dry, ventilated location with the approved charger, away from ignition sources. Obtain the applicable storage schedule and recharge-time guidance rather than borrowing a lithium-battery routine.
Bayside’s battery replacement guide explains the information needed to match a replacement correctly.
Which differences matter for your routine?
For tight indoor routes, investigate Ascot 3 first because of its smaller published turning radius. Confirm overall dimensions and the route before ordering.
For frequent car trips, Ascot 3’s lighter listed heaviest piece may matter more than overall scooter weight. Both still require several lifts, handling loose components, and reassembly. With limited assistance, establish who can complete that whole routine at each destination.
For shopping and local outings, compare the actual pavement, access points, and charging plan. Choosing four wheels does not establish a longer range or permission to use rougher surfaces.
For seating priorities, resolve the conflicting seat listings before comparing fit. Confirm adjustments and any alternative-seat package before paying for features you may not receive.
For restricted storage, measure the assembled footprint and the arrangement of disassembled parts. Five separate components may occupy space differently from one scooter. Ask for component dimensions before deciding which arrangement works.
Compare the complete purchase package
On October 20, 2026, Bayside listed Ascot 3 at $1,299 and Ascot 4 at $1,399 for Red/15Ah AGM configurations: a $100 listed difference. Obtain current availability and matched quotes covering seat, armrests, basket, batteries, charger, tax, delivery, and requested setup. Photographs do not prove inclusions.
Bayside’s shipping policy covers the contiguous United States and describes estimated delivery after processing and shipment. Confirm delivery tasks and setup separately; shipping does not automatically include unpacking or assembly.
The distributor-linked warranty document lists three years for scooter structural frames and one year for specified drivetrain and electrical components. Its scooter battery clause addresses lithium, so it does not establish AGM coverage for these Ascots. An older manufacturer warranty gives different component terms and 12-month AGM coverage. Request the applicable current policy in writing. Labor, service calls, and shipping are excluded unless authorized in advance; parts coverage does not promise in-home repair.
Bayside’s refund policy allows eligible return requests within 30 days of receipt and requires unused, unassembled condition, original packaging and components, proof of purchase, and authorization. Exclusions apply. Its terms of service identify possible return freight and restocking charges. Obtain the terms applicable to your order before assembly or use. Neither purchase is a free home trial. See the online buying guide for delivery and support details.
A practical checklist before ordering
· Confirm the exact model identifier, battery configuration, matching manual, and stock.
· Check seat dimensions, armrest spacing, foot placement, and control reach.
· Measure the complete indoor route, including turns beyond doorways.
· Compare outdoor surfaces and slopes with the supplied manual’s restrictions.
· Confirm all disassembly and reassembly tasks and who will perform them.
· Obtain the heaviest component’s identity, weight, dimensions, and lifting points.
· Check every component against the vehicle opening, cargo area, and storage space.
· Confirm charging connections, approved charger, and battery-maintenance instructions.
· Request the complete delivered price and setup scope.
· Obtain written warranty, AGM battery coverage, return eligibility, and potential charges.
Frequently asked questions
What is the main difference between these Ascot models?
Ascot 3 has a single front wheel and lower published turning and lifting figures. Ascot 4 has two front wheels, a larger published turning radius, and a heavier listed maximum component.
Which has the smaller verified turning radius?
The FreeRiderUSA brochure lists 34 inches for Ascot 3 and 52 inches for Ascot 4. These are published figures; measurement conditions are not stated.
Is the 4-wheel version automatically safer?
No. Surface, speed, steering, slope, loading, and rider fit affect operation. Follow the exact model’s restrictions rather than treating wheel count as a safety guarantee.
Do they fold or disassemble for transport?
Both are documented as five-piece, tool-free take-apart scooters. Lowering a tiller or folding a seat back is only part of preparing those components for transport.
Which is easier to load into a car?
Ascot 3 has the lighter published heaviest piece. Actual ease depends on component shape, gripping points, trunk height, available assistance, and the entire reassembly routine.
What battery accessory and support details should I confirm?
Get an itemized equipment list, exact AGM battery and charger details, charging connections, stock, delivered price, warranty responsibilities, and return costs before ordering.
To review purchase options, send Bayside your preferred model and battery, delivery ZIP code, narrowest clear access and cargo-opening measurements, who will disassemble and load the scooter, and required accessories or assistance. Ask for written details before payment.